December 2012 – In memory of those who are no longer with us


Unlike previous months, I thought I would take note of those who have passed away this December 2012 and who have had an impact on my life.

Huw Lloyd-Langton I have already talked about and covered elsewhere in this blog. I was unfortunately not able to attend his funeral on the 20th.

Patrick Moore also passed away aged 89 and not only did he popularise astronomy when I was young but I also ‘appeared’ on a radio programme with him in the early 70s. This was little more than me being one of the audience in a show called Cabbages and Kings in a small studio when Patrick appeared as a guest. A small claim to fame yet mine own!

Finally Gerry Anderson also passed away just before Christmas and I am of the generation where the list of his programmes which I loved is enormous – Thunderbirds, UFO, Captain Scarlet, Stingray, Space 1999 though I don’t remember Fireball XL5.

January I will return to my normal monthly meanderings – until then Happy New Years and let’s spare a thought for those no longer with us.

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

One Response to December 2012 – In memory of those who are no longer with us

  1. Pingback: TCP/IP – Radio Pi – Trains – Monopoly – Scrabble – Alien Plants « Reality Checkpoint

Leave a Reply

