Maylands Café


If you find yourself after a spot of grub in or near Hemel Hempstead (I often drop in when passing on the M1 – it is only five minutes detour) then the only place to go is the Maylands Café (1 Maylands Avenue). The picture here shows the staff being awarded a cheque for best Builder’s Breakfast earlier in 2011 – I have been visiting here for five or six years and have never had a bad cup of tea or a meal I didn’t like.

Review

Always busy with a mix of tradesmen, builders and guys in suits this does everything you might want for breakfast and indeed lunch as well. The tea is excellent as are the fried potatoes. Prices are sensible and the only downside to this great place to eat can be the parking.

I can’t do other than whole-heartedly recommend – enjoy please!

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

2 Responses to Maylands Café

  1. Bruvva says:

    Sounds ace. I’ll keep it in mind.

    Like

    • HelmStone says:

      I would

      Like

Leave a Reply

