So I bought a Kobo touch!


Having worried about Kindle / tablet and gotten excited over the Kindle Fire and Kindle Touch I was disappointed that there would be no UK launch in the near future. WH Smiths then announced the UK launch of the Kobo Touch for Monday just gone so I cracked and bought one. The unit is solid enough, the touch screen is ok as long as you don’t type too fast and I am (so far) pleased. For more early thoughts see me after the break

Pros:

The firmware gets updated regularly (they are competing hard with Kindle) and feature gaps are closing. It also takes EPUB which suits me (I have a set of PDFs I am converting to read on it).

They are also driving towards a different user experience (awards for usage, facebook tie in and other bits. Not sure they are for me but it gives the impression of a living product with a future

Cons:

It isn’t Amazon, so I need a new account with a new web site whose shopping experience is a long way behind though they have a much bigger range. I have so far stocked up with the obvious freebies. I can still see that medium term I might want to work out how to migrate to Kindle

Initial management is via a desktop package though you can get on the web and get books from the device

It may not take off though is launching over Europe and is already in Canada and I believe Australia.

Neutral:

On my small sample book prices are similar, both products have android / apple / PC readers.

Price is £109 which is what around what I expect the Kindle Touch to cost if it hits the UK after Christmas.

Overall – so far pleased but early days!

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

3 Responses to So I bought a Kobo touch!

  1. Pingback: PDF conversion for EPUB « Reality Checkpoint

  2. Pingback: Kobo Touch and the Kobo experience – week 1 « Reality Checkpoint

  3. Pingback: Kobo Touch Ereader Review | Best EReaderz

Leave a Reply

