Too many new Kindles – except in the UK


So September 28th did see the launch of the new Kindle Fire (as I have been raving about recently, e.g. here)  and in fact more than that we were treated to three new models (with variations). The reasonably obvious predictions I made a few weeks ago (here) were not massively wrong so I am pleased, however a couple of days later I find I am not pleased as much as I might have been. This blog entry discusses why…

The Emotional Response Curve

It is normal for people to react to good news with extreme positivity then in the cold light of day feel somewhat down (and the opposite for bad news).; later on we move to acceptance. It’s like when we buy something we have ancitpated and feel a rush of joy then next day start finding fault and wonder if we made the right choice.

I have passed through the first stage with the Kindle and am now in the second (more negative) stage.

Three Kindles

I watched a feed of the launch and was impressed – not only the new tabled the Kindle Fire and and a decent price point but also a much cheaper (somewhat nameless) low end $79 Kindle with few keys and also the rather lovely (though monochrome) Kindle Touch at $99. The Kindle Fire has Kindle Silk a caching browser system and access to movies and music. The price point is also terrific $199 – what’s not to like!

What about the UK?

Immediately after launch we saw the low end Kindle on the Amazon web site – for £89! Surely some mistake! It turns out the $79 is ad supported, adding $30 gets us to $109. Convert to sterling and we get  £70. Add in VAT at 20% we get £84 so we are paying £5 for shipping. Ok, not a rip off.

This logic leads us to expect the Touch to cost may £99 and the Fire maybe £175 or so.

Where are they? Are they coming?

It turns out there are lots of legal / data protection problems with the Silk model in the EU and also worries about delivering media that we can pay for meaning the Fire is not a simple proposition to launch – without that it is a variant 7″ Android Tablet running the Kindle App – maybe I will shop elsewhere.

The Touch is a different matter – I can see reason not to ship that here and I for one have my pennies ready. Come on Amazon!

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

2 Responses to Too many new Kindles – except in the UK

  1. Pingback: SF Gateway « Reality Checkpoint

  2. Pingback: Kobo here I come! « Reality Checkpoint

Leave a Reply

