Me too?!


So are we in momentous times? Remembering how fast evolution happens on the Internet I thought I would reflect on a few current events, much as I did here. This time I mull over the launch of Google+, the sale of MySpace and probably throw a few insults at Facebook on the way!

If you want to discuss or disagree, please get in touch as described here! Catch you soon!

Google+

So the mighty Google are launching their latest social media attempt and this time are being more careful about it than they have. Media hacks are playing to bias and loving or hating it. It has already killed Facebook or is another flash in the pan depending on who you read.

I am pro-Android and Chrome so I suppose I will look at it. I don’t get FaceBook so can’t really compare. I don’t know why I want this but I tweet and blog so who knows? What I have gleaned is:

  • Rationing of invites makes it seem more desirable (learning from Apple?)
  • It doesn’t act as a closed community which (as far as I follow it) is a better thing than FaceBook.
Will it catch on, will I use it, can it make inroads into the massive lead of FaceBook? What do I know?!

MySpace

Meanwhile if you look at making money out of web ideas as commodities, realise they go out of fashion fast (I am thinking purchases of Yahoo and even Skype here!). Today MySpace was sold by News International sold it for $35m – a mere 6% of the $580m it cost!

I suspect that the lesson here for Google+ / FaceBook is that the web is still around offerings not buying and selling businesses. They either die a natural death or are too tied into the vision and ideals of the management that made them a success.

Facebook

I don’t use it. It is pervading the web and a growing number of bands / products use it as a channel to market so I am locked out of that.

In the press it is losing users, many 10s of 1000s are dead accounts and it is now ‘down’ to $70bn. Clearly this can not sustain and I predict the transformation of Facebook (see my layered internet piece) not its demise.

To me the web is still massively evolving and there is probably an insight somewhere into complexity vs. survival vs, flexibility and the steps through which a complex system evolves to generate artefacts as emergent properties.

Sadly I don’t know what it is – when I do I’ll let you know. Probably the day after someone launches it!

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

Leave a Reply

