Happy Birthday to me!


A Checkpoint

On the 21st of May Reality Checkpoint sneaked into the blogsphere with this sad little post. Somewhat to my amazement I am still carrying on with this, and have managed to post a few pieces some of which are not too bad. As the first anniversary quickly approached it seemed only right to take stock in a kind of checkpoint way…


So what have I done?

So far I have produced several dozen posts of (very) variable quality across a range of themes:

  • Dr Who on TV
  • Dr Who by Big Finish
  • Some Music and a bit of Hawkwind
  • Lists of stuff I have read / listened too
  • Some musings on life, football and the M25
  • Random nonsense
  • Playing the Oak Trombone.
Looking back I am surprised at the high proportion of Dr Who (roughly a third of the site) and am wondering if I should split that into a separate blog. When I look a stats I started at a few hits a day and have suddenly leapt up to the staggering levels of 18-20 a day. Nothing enormous but not zero. I am also most surprised that the most popular post by far was a throwaway about a tube journey in London (see the Oak Trombone mentioned above!).

What have I learned?

Although a lot of the posts are lists, these are useful to me as they act as a ersatz diary and over time might amuse me to reminisce. It is not hard to produce a basic post every few days of a few hundred words on a range of topics. Most of the writing is average but it is good practice for writing in general.

It also lets me get things out of my system and sparks the odd conversation with colleagues. Beyond that it harms no-one!

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

Leave a Reply

