Jukebox Delights


F23 Track 8…

A jukebox of delightsIf I go to a pub I don’t know, I like to have a look at the jukebox. These days of course the chances are that the sound of Sky Sports and gambling machines will drown out the humble jukebox, but there are still places where you can get a decent pint, sit at a table and put your coins in the machine to get treated to a few pieces of music that you have chosen.

The best part is that you don’t know ahead of time what will be available, so it is a real pot-luck experience. Over the years I have built up a list of tracks I will always play if I find them, and that list I present today (though I have no doubt forgotten many of my faves.)

So without further ado, and in no real order other than alphabetic, welcome to my jukebox (or at least the first dozen entries)!

America: A Horse with No Name this track has the dubious pleasure of being the first single I ever bought. Does it need any other reason?

Black Sabbath: Iron Man spoilt for choice but this is the track that needs playing in the pub as I once found it in an Oxford alehouse some years ago…

Blondie: Atomic the video that inspired an unhealthy interest in bin-liners

Eminem: Stan it might be a token newer track, but this is a work of art (probably)

Peter Gabriel: Solsbury Hill he may have written it to explain why he left Genesis but this track never fails to resonate

Talking Heads: Psycho Killer can there be any objection to this?

The Jam: A-bomb in Wardour Street they may have produced some timeless tracks, but this is the one I play just to hint at the true breadth of talent that this band possessed at the time. I also don’t like Wardour Street that much!

The Monkees: Stepping Stone I rate this the best Monkees track spoilt as I am by it being covered in the 80s by Cambridge band The Rapiers

The Rolling Stones: Sympathy for the Devil how to pick just one track? Well I have field tested this one on a very dull Tuesday in Bury St. Edmunds and it worked then

The Waterboys: The Whole of the Moon someone once said this song was about me; on the assumption it was a compliment this one gets on the list (I can just see Brigadoon now)

X-ray Spex: Germ Free Adolescents a song whose lyrics I couldn’t make out for years, I fervently feel that the Spex were a true UK Punk band amidst a plethora of (highly talented and successful) faux Punks and imitators

Yes: Parallels not obvious maybe, but this spent at least a term on the jukebox at college, and that brings back memories

So, that’s my first items for the Jukebox, what would you have on yours?

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

Leave a Reply

