How I got into Hawkwind


In some respects I was always meant to be a Hawkfan. In my teens I used to lap up the many fantasy books of Michael Moorcock and realised that he was tangentially at times involved with the Hawks; I also, inevitably, was aware of Silver Machine which frequented the school disco many a time as I was growing up (and also Anne Nightingale’s Sunday afternoon Radio 1 show – who remembers that!?)

It wasn’t until 1984 (22nd April) that I finally got to see Hawkwind in action and that entirely by chance (or was it.)

I was in Brighton (see how all these themes mix together in my life) for a science-fiction convention (another theme!) and glancing through the programme for Sunday noticed an hour’s slot featuring the Hawklords (I later learnt that they weren’t performing under their normal name for legal reasons) – a friend of mine when asked suggested that there was no way that Hawkwind would be turning up at a sci-fi convention, but that didn’t stop me making my way to a small room in the Hotel Metropole later afternoon to sit through a synthesiser demo then wait for what would arise.

And Lo! Hawkwind did appear, and play through guitar / lights / sound for an hour that completely captivated me, and has to this day (interestingly in a book Dave Brock claims this was one of their worst gigs!). The line up was Dave Brock, Harvey Bainbridge, Huw Lloyd Langton and Bob Calvert – I learnt all this from the excellent Starfarer web site. I also now know this was almost the last time Bob Calvert would play with the band before his tragic early death.

As to the set, all I know is they played an incredible version of Sonic Attack – if anyone knows the full set list (or even has a bootleg?) do let me know.

As to me I try and see the Hawks at least once a year, most recently on the Christmas Tour when they get to London. I’ve probably seen them almost 30 times, which may sound a lot but is peanuts compared to serious fans who see them as often as possible, even consecutive nights on the same tour.

As to Silver Machine, I didn’t get to hear that for almost 20 years, and it is far from a favourite (I will do a list at some point).

Until the next gig, thanks for reading this far, and remember ‘This was Reality, however grim!’ (Robert Calvert, The Awakening).

About Tony Jones
Big Finish writer, reviewer and blogger, I'm interested in science fiction and Doctor Who. I review for CultBox, The Doctor Who Companion and others. I am also Audio Drama editor for Starburst Magazine, and write the occasional piece for Vortex, the BSFA critical magazine.

One Response to How I got into Hawkwind

  1. Pingback: Vortex Books « Reality Checkpoint

Leave a Reply

